top of page
2019 Chair Meeting

During the fourth CVVM 2020-2024 chair, the emphasis will be placed not only on the development of several types of concrete, but also on the transfer of technology to the cement and concrete industry, standardization, characterization of aggregates of glass from sorting centers in Quebec and analysis of the life cycle of concrete with glass powder.

Objectives of the Chair

2020-2024

Standardization of the use of glass powder in concrete

One of the very important missions of the Chair is the standardization of glass powder as a cementitious material. Thanks mainly to the research results and tests of the Chair, the CSA A3000 standard standardized glass powder (CSA A3001) in December 2018. The holder of the Chair participated extensively in the implementation of the American ASTM standard. ASTM recognized glass powder as a cementitious material in December 2019. The new Chair is currently working on the standardization of glass powder in the CSA concrete standard (A23) and the Quebec standard (BNQ).

 

Standards folders.jpg

Technical support for the cement and concrete industry and project owners in the application of the CSA and BNQ standard

The technological transfer of previously obtained research results will be decisive for the future of glass in concrete. Studies carried out during the last three chairs have shown that glass has certain interesting characteristics for industrial use: for example, longer-term pozzolanic behavior and good durability. Numerous demonstration projects, both with the SAQ and with other partners such as the City of Montreal, have enabled the standardization of glass powder in the CSA standard (CSA A3000). There is a need to continue this popularization among the industry and project owners by helping them to use the CSA standard.

 

This technological transfer will take place in two forms:​

   1-Carrying out demonstration projects;

  2-Organization of seminars, workshops and conferences.

bottom of page

Réunion de la Chaire 2019

Durant la quatrième chaire CVVM 2020-2024, l’accent sera mis non seulement sur le développement de plusieurs types de bétons, mais aussi sur le transfert de technologie vers l’industrie du ciment et du béton, la normalisation, la caractérisation des agrégats de verre issue des centres de tri du Québec et l’analyse du cycle de vie du béton avec poudre de verre.

Réunion de la chaire (online) en présence des partenaires et des équipes de recherche

le 27 mai 2021:

Une rencontre durant laquelle les avancements des différents projets de recherches, les projections et le bilan de la chaire ont été exposés en présence des partenaire ...Aller aux objectifs

CVVM MEETING 2021 05 27

Objectifs de la Chaire

2020-2024

Normalisation de l’utilisation de la poudre de verre dans le béton

Une des missions très importantes de la Chaire est la normalisation de la poudre de verre comme matériau cimentaire. Grâce en majeure partie aux résultats de recherche et aux essais de la Chaire, la norme CSA A3000 a normalisé la poudre de verre (CSA A3001) en décembre 2018. Le titulaire de la Chaire a beaucoup participé à la mise en oeuvre de la norme américaine ASTM. L’ASTM a reconnu la poudre de verre comme matériau cimentaire en Décembre 2019. La nouvelle Chaire travaille actuellement sur la normalisation de la poudre de verre dans la norme CSA béton (A23) et la norme du Québec (BNQ).

 

Standards folders.jpg

Accompagnement technique de l’industrie du ciment et béton et les propriétaires d’ouvrages dans l’application de la norme CSA et BNQ

Le transfert technologique des résultats de recherche précédemment obtenus sera déterminant pour l’avenir du verre dans les bétons. Les études menées durant les trois dernières chaires ont montré que le verre possède certaines caractéristiques intéressantes pour une utilisation sur le plan industriel: par exemple, un comportement pouzzolanique à plus long terme et une bonne durabilité. Les nombreux projets de démonstration, autant avec la SAQ qu’avec d’autres partenaires comme la Ville de Montréal, ont permis la normalisation de la poudre de verre dans la norme CSA (CSA A3000). Il y a lieu de continuer cette vulgarisation auprès de l’industrie et des propriétaires d’ouvrage en les aidant à utiliser la norme CSA.

 

Ce transfert technologique se fera sous deux formes :​

   1-Réalisation de projets de démonstration;

   2-Organisation de séminaires, ateliers et conférences.

Partenaires CVVM 2021.png